NEASC Accreditation

The University of New England has begun the institutional accreditation process that will include a self-study report and independent review of UNE’s education programs in April 2017. This process affirms UNE’s culture of continuous reflection and assessment in our learning community; the resulting self-study report helps UNE set and pursue its strategic goals.

The New England Association of Schools and Colleges Commission on Institutions of Higher Education (NEASC CIHE) is the regional accrediting agency for more than 200 colleges and universities across New England, including UNE. As the nation’s oldest regional accrediting body, NEASC's mission is to establish and maintain high levels of education from pre-kindergarten through the doctoral level. In the United States, accreditation is an important way for students, families, government officials, the press and the public to know that an institution or program provides a high-quality education. Generally, these complete institutional reviews occur every ten years. 

Accreditation is important because:

  • The process is a mechanism by with the University ensures the highest possible quality through peer review.
  • The federal government requires that a college, university, or program be accredited in order to be eligible for federal grants, loans, or other federal funds, including research funds.
  • Employers often ask if a college, university or program is accredited before deciding to provide tuition assistance to current employees. Accreditation is also vital in evaluating the credentials of employment applicants, or making a charitable contribution.
  • State governments require that a college, university, or program be accredited when they make state funds available to students or institutions, and when they allow students to sit for state licensure examinations in many professional fields.

NEASC provides 11 Standards for Accreditation that direct the preparation of the institutional self-study report. In December 2014, UNE established the NEASC Self-Study Steering Committee that will guide the community through this valuable process. These individuals are:

  • Ellen Beaulieu, (Co-Chair) Vice President for Strategic Initiatives
  • Michael Sheldon, (Co-Chair) Associate Professor and Program Director Department of Physical Therapy
  • Jim Koelbl, Provost and Senior Vice President
  • Cynthia Forrest, Vice President for Student Affairs
  • Cathrine Frank, Associate Professor College of Arts and Sciences      
  • Andrew Golub, Dean of Library Services
  • Margaret Moremen, Director of Office of Institutional Research and Assessment
  • John Tumiel, Senior Advisor to the President; Chief Compliance Officer
  • Holly Parker, Coordinator for Academic Innovations

In June 2015, The Steering Committee selected UNE community members to lead Standards Committees that will investigate UNE’s compliance with the 11 NEASC standards.

NEASC Self-Study Standards Leaders:

Standard 1 - Mission and Purposes

  • Anouar Majid, Vice President for Global Affairs and Communications
  • Bill Chance, Vice President for Institutional Advancement                 

Standard 2 - Planning and Evaluation

  • Dora Anne Mills, Vice President for Clinical Affairs          
  • Wallace Marsh, Assistant Dean for Assessment and Accreditation, College of Pharmacy

Standard 3 - Organization and Governance

  • Dennis Leighton, Associate Professor and Chair of UNE Faculty Assembly
  • Sharen Beaulieu, Executive Director of Human Resources

Standard 4 - The Academic Program

  • Karen Pardue, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Westbrook College of Health Professions
  • Susan Gray, Associate Dean, College of Arts and Sciences

Standard 5 - Faculty

  • Stine Brown, Chair and Professor, Department of Biology
  • Emily Dornblaser, Assistant Professor, College of Pharmacy

Standard 6 - Students

  • Scott Steinberg, Dean of University Admissions
  • Mary Jones, Director of University Career Development Services

Standard 7 - Library and Other Information Resources

  • Stew MacLehose, Director of Digital Services
  • Susan Hillman, Director of The Center for the Enrichment of Teaching and Learning

Standard 8 - Physical and Technological Resources

  • Alan Thibeault, Assistant Vice President for Planning
  • Craig Loftus, Chief Information Officer                                                                          

Standard 9 - Financial Resources

  • Michael Daley, Associate Professor and Interim Chair, Department of Business
  • Janice Lamontagne, Director of University Budgeting

Standard 10 - Public Disclosure

  • Crystal Canney, Director of Communications
  • Colleen Binette, Senior Assistant Registrar

Standard 11 - Integrity

  • Nick Gere, Director of Research Administration
  • Joan Monahan, Registrar

A successful self-study will rely on the entire UNE community’s input and feedback, which will be sought through surveys, interviews and “town hall” style meetings. After the final self-study is submitted to NEASC in late 2016, a Visiting Committee assigned by NEASC will come to UNE in April 2017 to conduct its own independent review. 

If you have any comments or questions regarding the NEASC self-study or site visit contact