56th Annual Deborah Morton Convocation September 19, 2017

President Herbert:

Thank you, Theo. And thank you Cyndy. I am so pleased to welcome you all here today for the 56th presentation of the Deborah Morton Awards. On July first I began my tenure as President of University of New England, and so, as Dr Kallikow noted, this is my first Deborah Morton Society Convocation. I look forward to many more.

Before I officially took the reins here at UNE, former President Ripich took me on a tour of the Portland Campus. What a beautiful place! Filled with a wonderful mixture of history and modern technology, this campus provides our budding health professionals with the perfect place to learn and train.

Especially impressive was Alumni Hall, where we will have our reception today. At a time when higher education for women was still in its infancy, Alumni Hall was the heart of Westbrook Seminary and Westbrook College, socially and academically. Its halls were filled with young women, studying hard to succeed in the very few fields then open to them. Now, after careful renovation, Alumni Hall is once again the heart of this campus, still home to women studying hard to succeed – but now success can be earned in a myriad of professions, not limited by gender.

Deborah Morton was a scholar, leader, reformer, mentor, teacher and adventurer.

She traveled the world at a time when women just did not do that, and brought back knowledge and experiences which she shared with others, including her appreciative women students. She inspired a thirst for education and a curiosity about the world. She

left an indelible mark on everyone that she met. She was a leader for the women of her time.

I am delighted that one of the first occasions at which I get to preside as President of University of New England is this one, which honors some of the women leaders for our time, by awarding them membership in the Deborah Morton Society.

The Deborah Morton Awardees are nominated by members of the Steering

Committee who spend countless hours selecting awardees who fulfill the exacting

standards set by the Society's guidelines. Those who served on the steering committee

this year are: Ellie Baker, Meg Baxter, Susan Carlisle, Kaye Flanagan, Michelle Hood,

Theo Kalikow, Pat Peard, Paula Silsby, Patsy Wiggins, and ex officio, President Danielle

Ripich.

The Deborah Morton Awards have been presented to over 200 women these past 56 years. Many of the award recipients are with us today in the audience. I'd like to invite all members of the Deborah Morton Society to please rise and be recognized. We thank all of the Steering Committee members for their time and efforts.

I would also like to take a moment to honor the four Deborah Morton Society members who have passed on since our last convocation. For Wilma Bradford, Dahlov Ipcar, Lois Dickson Rice, and Mary-Leigh Call Smart, let us all take a moment of silence. We will miss them.

I'd like now to turn our attention to this year's award recipients. Today we celebrate the achievements of three remarkable women and I've asked members of the

Board of Trustees to assist in sharing the names of this year's Deborah Morton Society award recipients. Our first Trustee to do so is Story Landis.

Story Landis:

On behalf of the Board of Trustees of the University of New England, it is my pleasure to present 2017 Deborah Morton Award recipient Mary Bonauto.

President Herbert:

Mary Bonauto has served as GLAD's Civil Rights Project Director since 1990. During her time in this role she has litigated on discrimination issues, free speech and religious liberty, and relationship and parental rights. In 2015 she successfully argued before the United States Supreme Court in the historic case *Obergefell v. Hodges*, establishing the freedom to marry for same-sex couples nationwide.

Mary holds a law degree from Northeastern University School of Law, is the Shikes Fellow in Civil Liberties and Civil Rights and Lecturer on Law at Harvard Law School, a 2014 MacArthur Fellow, and is currently on an advisory board for the American Constitution Society.

It is an honor to have her with us today. Please join me in welcoming to podium Mary Bonauto.

Mary Bonauto's Remarks

President Herbert:

Thank you, Mary. I will now call upon University Trustee Regen Gallagher to present her Deborah Morton Award candidate.

Regen Gallagher:

On behalf of the Board of Trustees of the University of New England, it is my pleasure to present 2017 Deborah Morton Award recipient, Kristen Miale.

President Herbert:

Kristen Miale is the President of Good Shepherd Food Bank, Maine's largest hunger relief organization.

Good Shepherd Food Bank works with a network of over 400 ending hunger organizations to distribute over 21 million meals throughout the state to people in need. Before her role as President, she was the founder and program director of Cooking Matters for Maine, a local chapter of Share Our Strength's nationally recognized cooking and nutrition education program for low-income families.

Her nomination for this award describes Kristen's big picture thinking, and organizational and communication skills as having re-energized Good Shepherd Food Bank and re-established it as the leader of the food security movement in Maine.

Kristen serves on the board of the Cumberland County Extension Association and has been a board member and treasurer of Big Brothers Big Sisters of Southern Maine.

She received her undergraduate degree from Boston College and her Masters in Business Administration from Boston University where she studied both entrepreneurship and non-profit management.

Please join me in welcoming to the podium Kristen Miale.

Kristen Miale's Remarks

President Herbert:

Thank you, Kristen. I will now call upon our Student Trustee Caroline Moore, to present her Deborah Morton Award candidate.

Caroline Moore:

On behalf of the Board of Trustees of the University of New England, it is my pleasure to present 2017 Deborah Morton Award recipient, Betsy Webb.

President Herbert:

Dr. Betsy Webb is the Superintendent of the Bangor School Department. She has served in this role since 2008 and has distinguished herself by increasing academic achievement, developing a ten year strategic plan emphasizing academic excellence, professional excellence, quality instructional program, and an environment for success.

Dr. Webb was named the 2013 Maine Superintendent of the Year and in 2012 was the Maine School Superintendents' Association Outstanding Leadership Award winner. She is in the Alumni Hall of Fame at Husson University and in 2008 was selected as the Maine 2008 Administrator of the Year by the Maine School Libraries' Association.

Superintendent Webb serves on a number of boards in the Bangor community, is the President of the Maine School Superintendents' Association, and a member of the Executive Committee, representing New England and New York, on the national superintendents' association, AASA.

Please join me in welcoming to the podium Dr. Betsy Webb.

Betsy Webb's Remarks

President Herbert:

Thank you, Betsy.

Please accept my sincere congratulations on your membership in the Deborah Morton Society. We are so proud to have you join our family.

Thank you all for coming to our campus today to celebrate the accomplishments of these women. I will now turn the program over once again to Theo Kalikow for closing remarks.