Research and Scholarship Committee

The UNE COM Research and Scholarship Committee (RSC) is a standing committee of the University of New England College of Osteopathic Medicine. 


Through the collaborative efforts and creativity of the committee members, our mission is to advance and administer the research and scholarship agenda within the UNE COM to include UNE’s Centers of Excellence where appropriate and develop opportunities for research and scholarship education and practice.

The RSC has four main functions:

  1. Assist in formulating recommendations and policies including processes or procedures designed to enhance research and scholarship within UNE COM.
  2. Foster and facilitate mentoring of UNE COM students in a variety of research and scholarship endeavors.
  3. Administer and implement the Peter Morgane Student Research Fellowship Program and Annual UNE COM Research Forum.
  4. Coordinate website content and information related to the functions of this committee.

2018 Committee Members

  • Meghan A. May, M.S., Ph.D., Chair
    Associate Professor, Department of Biomedical Sciences
  • Marilyn R. Gugliucci, M.A., Ph.D., Vice-Chair
    Professor & Director Geriatrics Education and Research, Department of Primary Care
  • Ling Cao, M.D., Ph.D.
    Associate Professor, Department of Biomedical Sciences
  • Selma Holden, M.D., M.P.H., M.S.
    Assistant Clinical Professor, Department of Primary Care
  • Tamara King, Ph.D.
    Associate Professor, Department of Biomedical Sciences
  • Ian Meng, Ph.D.
    Professor, Department of Biomedical Sciences
  • Doug Spicer, Ph.D., M.MEdL
    Associate Professor, Department of Biomedical Sciences
  • Diane Labbe, Administrative Staff
    Coordinator of Research & Scholarship, Department of Biomedical Sciences
    (207) 602-2459

​RSC Student Representatives

  • Jonathan Hansen, OMSII, UNE COM 
    Co-President, New England Research Club
  • Vishaaq Mathew, OMSII, UNE COM 
    Co-President, New England Research Club
  • Taylor Langevin, OMSII, UNE COM
    Vice President, New England Research Club