This website uses cookies to understand how you use the website and to improve your experience. By continuing to use the website, you accept the University of New England’s use of cookies and similar technologies. To learn more about our use of cookies and how to manage your browser cookie settings, please review our Privacy Notice.


UNE College of Osteopathic Medicine announces 2017 Carmen Pettapiece Student Research Fellowship winners

UNE College of Osteopathic Medicine

May 15, 2017

The University of New England College of Osteopathic Medicine Student Government Association’s Professional Development Committee announced the 10 winners of 2017 Carmen Pettapiece Student Research Fellowship.

The UNE COM SGA established the Carmen Pettapiece Student Research Fund in an effort to support all areas of medically oriented research conducted by UNE COM students. The fund supports student research in the areas of osteopathic medicine, clinical, biomedical or public health, or to support research through necessary supplies. This year, the UNE COM Office of the Dean also provided support in order to fund more student research projects.

The 2017 winners are:

Alexander Carlson (Class of 2020) "Determining Whether Plastic Nanoparticles Change the Impact and Transport of the Polycyclic Aromatic Hydrocarbon Benzo[a]pyrene (B[a]P)." Mentor: Daniel Brazeau, Ph.D., UNE COM

Kelly Ciapciak (Class of 2020) "Evaluation of Puritan DNA/RNA© Safe for the preservation of high quality DNA and RNA for research applications." Mentor: Daniel Brazeau, Ph.D., UNE COM

Max Cohen (Class of 2020) "A qualitative assessment of the resources and programming available to prevent adolescent suicide in Native American school communities in Maine." Mentor: Ryan Smith, D.O., UNE COM

Sharon Geerts (Class of 2020) "Contingency Management Supported Tobacco Cessation Predicators of Relapse in Veterans with and without PTSD." Mentor: Ann Rasmussen, M.D., National Center for PTSD, Women’s Health Science Division, VA Boston Healthcare System and Boston University School of Medicine

Jeffrey Hall (Class of 2020) "Chemical Sedation in Treatment of Acute Undifferentiated Agitation in the Emergency Department." Mentor: Lauren Klein, M.D., Hennepin County Medical Center, Department of Emergency medicine

David Jackson (Class of 2020) "Direct Activation of Nociceptors by Pathogenic Cellular Components to Cause Infection-Mediated Pain." Mentor: Meghan May, Ph.D., UNE COM

Laura-Francis Morin (Class of 2020) "The effect of color stimuli on perception of pain and pain mediating behaviors." Mentor: Ling Cao, M.D. Ph.D., UNE COM

Victoria Schwartz (Class of 2020) "Characterizing adolescent and familial response to interventional efforts during the acute-post trauma phase of adolescents at risk for persistent PTSD." Mentor: Thomas Chun, M.D. M.P.H, Brown University

Justin Stafford (Class of 2020) "Impact of physiotherapy location on shoulder instability PROMs and increased patient follow-up response rate." Mentor: Kurt Spindler, M.D., Cleveland Clinic Foundation, Department of Orthopedic Surgery        

Emily Szuba (Class of 2020) "Geriatric Cancer patients cognitive test scores as domain of the comprehensive geriatric assessment and treatment associated hospitalizations and treatment-related toxic events." Mentor: Ronald Maggiore, M.D., University of Rochester

To learn more about the University of New England’s College of Osteopathic Medicine, visit

To apply, visit

Groups audience: