chris hunt with students and his dog

G. Christopher Hunt

Associate Provost for Community, Equity, and Diversity

Read bio

The Office of Community, Equity, and Diversity engages and collaborates with students, faculty, and professional staff to foster inclusivity and embrace equity and diversity across UNE’s campuses, in its curriculum, through professional development, and in its recruitment and retention practices.

The office provides leadership and coordination around diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) initiatives, working to eliminate barriers to success for all members of our community — especially for historically underrepresented individuals — and ensuring that diversity, equity, and inclusion are considered in every institutional decision.


UNE’s work on DEI issues extends beyond the Office of Community, Equity, and Diversity. It is the result of collaboration among members of a wide array of constituencies across the University, including institutional offices and various university committees.

UNE Offices in Support of DEI Efforts

UNE Committees Devoted to DEI

University Committee on Community, Equity, and Diversity

Co-chair: Christopher Hunt,

Co-chair: Carol J. Ewan Whyte, Ph.D.,

University Faculty Assembly Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

Co-chair: Kenneth “Mac” McCall, B.S., Pharm.D., BCGP, RPh, FAPhA;

Co-chair: Jennifer Ceide,

College of Arts and Sciences Faculty Assembly Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

Chair: Alicia Peters, Ph.D.;

College of Dental Medicine Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

Co-chair: Kehinde Babalola, B.Ch.D., M.D.S.;

Co-chair: Shaista Rashid, B.D.S., M.S.;

College of Graduate and Professional Studies Diversity, Inclusion, and Equity Committee

Chair: Greg Andrews;

College of Osteopathic Medicine Dean’s Advisory Committee on Diversity and Inclusion

Faculty co-chair: Hwyda Arafat, M.D., Ph.D., M.Sc., M.Ed.L.;

Student co-chair: Karim Abdel Jalil;

Westbrook College of Health Professions Excellence in Diversity, Inter-Culturalism, and Difference Committee

Chair: Alia Sullivan, PT, D.P.T., GCS, CEEAA;

Athletics Community, Equity, and Diversity Committee

Co-chair: Michael Lichten;

Co-chair: Ashley

Community, Equity, and Diversity Library Resource Initiative (CEDLRI)

The Community, Equity, and Diversity Library Resource Initiative (CEDLRI) is a crowdsourced community resource that provides the UNE community with resources that inform and inspire action to support inclusive campuses and extended learning sites. We believe in our collective responsibility to study and celebrate the diverse backgrounds and experiences of UNE students, faculty, and professional staff in order to foster a sense of belonging for all members of our community.

The UNE Community is welcome to suggest additional resources for inclusion. Suggestions will be reviewed by the CEDLRI team.

This website uses cookies to understand how you use the website and to improve your experience. By continuing to use the website, you accept the University of New England’s use of cookies and similar technologies. To learn more about our use of cookies and how to manage your browser cookie settings, please review our Privacy Notice.