Bernard and Sandra Featherman Distinguished Lecture on Humanities

The Featherman Humanities Lecture was established by University of New England President Emeritus Sandra Featherman, Ph.D., and her husband, Bernard Featherman.

Committed to promoting humanistic values and to enrich the learning experience at UNE, the Feathermans have created a permanent forum for exciting dialogues on diverse and provocative topics by thoughtful and renowned speakers.

For more information on the Featherman Lectures, contact lecture coordinator professor Ali Abdullatif Ahmida at (207) 602-2804.



President Emeritus Sandra Featherman was president of the University of New England from 1996-2006. Before coming to the University of New England, Dr. Featherman served at the University of Minnesota/Duluth as vice chancellor for academic administration and professor of political science, and at Temple University as assistant to the president, director of the Center for Public Policy, and president of the Faculty Senate. Dr. Featherman has served on many boards and won many awards, including the Champion for Economic Growth Leadership Award for nonprofit organizations from the Maine Development Foundation.

Bernard Featherman has a bachelor’s degree from Temple University, where he also attended graduate schools of business and law. He attended the Wharton School of Banking and Finance at the University of Pennsylvania. He has been president and owner of Bernard Franklin Company and Western Steel Company, both based in Pennsylvania. He was the national president of the Association of Steel Distributors and the national chairman of the Small Business Council of the Democratic National Committee. He is a lifetime member of the Institute of American Entrepreneurs. In Maine, he is a member of the Kennebunkport Historical Society and has served as a board member of the American Red Cross of Southern Maine, the Wardwell Retirement Homes in Saco and the Biddeford-Saco Chamber of Commerce. In 1991, Featherman was named the Mid-Atlantic States Small Business Advocate of the Year by the U.S. Small Business Administration.