UNE's Robert McCarthy receives distinguished educator award from Maine Pharmacy Association

Robert McCarthy
Robert McCarthy, Ph.D., FAPhA, dean of and professor in the School of Pharmacy

Robert McCarthy, Ph.D., FAPhA, dean of and professor in the School of Pharmacy and associate dean of the Westbrook College of Health Professions (WCHP), has been recognized with the Douglas H. Kay Distinguished Pharmacy Educator Award by the Maine Pharmacy Association (MPA).

The award recognizes an educator in Maine who has made significant and sustained contributions to the field of pharmacy. It is named in remembrance of Douglas H. Kay, a dean of the former UNE College of Pharmacy, who, prior to the college’s opening, led a feasibility study to justify the need for a pharmacy school in Northern New England.

McCarthy was presented with the award in a modest ceremony at UNE’s School of Pharmacy building on Dec. 9. Presenting the award were MPA Executive Director Amy Downing and MPA Past-President Amelia Arnold.

“I first met Dr. Kay as a Northeastern student, and we developed a wonderful professional relationship over the years, and I recall conversations with him when UNE was planning the College of Pharmacy,” McCarthy said. “Having the opportunity to serve as dean here and receive a recognition in his honor is very special.”

Kenneth McCall, B.S., Pharm.D., BCGP, RPh, FAPhA, professor in the school and director of Residency Programs and Professional Affairs, joined the event in person. Dan Mickool, B.S., RPh, M.S., Ed.D, director of Continuing Education for the school and current MPA president, joined virtually.

Karen Pardue, Ph.D., RN, CNE, FNAP, ANEF, dean of the Westbrook College of Health Professions, congratulated McCarthy on his award.

“This is a significant honor for Bob McCarthy and represents his multi-decade commitment to students and the field of pharmacy education,” she said.