This website uses cookies to understand how you use the website and to improve your experience. By continuing to use the website, you accept the University of New England’s use of cookies and similar technologies. To learn more about our use of cookies and how to manage your browser cookie settings, please review our Privacy Notice.



Maroon Award

Outstanding Graduating Senior, Westbrook college of Health Professions

Nominated by faculty and staff and then chosen by representative members of the senior class, the Maroon Award is presented each year to one undergraduate student on the Biddeford Campus and one undergraduate student on the Portland Campus. The award is given to students who serve as a role model to others by demonstrating and maintaining high academic standards, superior leadership qualities, collaborative working relationships, and demonstrated service to improve the quality of life for others.

Previous Recipients

  • 2019 Jesse Hall, Applied Exercise Science; Cristina Sevilla, Dental Hygiene
  • 2018 Erin Marchesseault, Athletic Training; Matthew Kane, Nursing
  • 2017 Brooke Marshall, Applied Exercise Science;
    Josselyn Agura, Nursing
  • 2016 Sophie Forslund, Nursing
  • 2015 Ryan Camire, Nursing
  • 2014 Nicholas Durand, Nursing
  • 2013 Georgia Smith, Nursing
  • 2012 Meagan Chandler, Nursing
  • 2011 Laurianne Bennett, Nursing
  • 2010 Brenda Connell, Nursing
  • 2009 Stephanie E. Hebb, Dental Hygiene
  • 2008 Courtney E. Clark, Nursing
  • 2007 Kristian Haralson, Nursing
  • 2006 Lisa Tranni, Dental Hygiene 
  • 2005 Lisa Kneeland, Dental Hygiene
  • 2004 Craig Arnold, Dental Hygiene
  • 2003 Leanne Doughty, Dental Hygiene
  • 2002 Maribeth Aeschback, Dental Hygiene;
    Kathleen Sherman, Nursing
  • 2001 Christina A. Chandler, American Studies
  • 2000 Jennifer M. Martin, Dental Hygiene
  • 1999 Mary A. Dechene, Dental Hygiene

Jacques Downs Award

Outstanding Graduating Senior, College of Arts and Sciences

This is a College of Arts and Sciences undergraduate student award. Nominations for the Jacques Downs award are solicited each year from the Biddeford Campus's faculty and staff. The Awards Committee then reviews the nominations and selects one outstanding student. This honor is bestowed upon the most accomplished student in the Senior Class on the Biddeford Campus. Considerations for this award are primarily the student's academic achievement, scholarly work, and service considerations during her/his UNE career.


  • 2019 Ariella Danziger, Marine Science/Elementary & Middle Education
  • 2018 Megan M. Hall, English
  • 2017 Christina Claire-Georges, Sociology
  • 2016 Megan E. Perry, Biochemistry/Applied Mathematics
  • 2015 Aidan McParland, Medical Biology/Med Sciences; Ioana Panaitiu, Political Science
  • 2014 Cecelia A. French, Medical Biology/Sociology
  • 2013 Lindsay M. Forrette, Animal Behavior
  • 2012 Briana W. Chu, Elementary Education
  • 2011 Alexandra E. Panaitiu, Biochemistry
  • 2010 Dora K. Clements, Political Science
  • 2009 Emily W. Zimmermann, Marine Biology
  • 2008 Nicholas Tito, Chemistry
  • 2007 Michaela R. O'Rourke, Medical Biology
  • 2006 Anthony Bellantuono, Marine Biology
  • 2005 Danielle Doherty, Psychology
  • 2004 Heather Kirchdorfer, English
  • 2003 Jennifer Blair, Medical Biology
  • 2002 Tammy Tuminelli, Environmental Science
  • 2001 Sarah Spencer
  • 2000 Ian Paquette, Biochemistry/Medical Biology
  • 1999 Alissa Towle
  • 1998 Marie DesLauriers
  • 1997 Jessica Nelson