This website uses cookies to understand how you use the website and to improve your experience. By continuing to use the website, you accept the University of New England’s use of cookies and similar technologies. To learn more about our use of cookies and how to manage your browser cookie settings, please review our Privacy Notice.


Humanism in Aging Leadership Award

The University of New England College of Osteopathic Medicine's annual Humanism in Aging Leadership Award recognizes a prominent geriatrician who exemplifies humanism and innovation in his or her approach to improving the lives of older adults.

The award was originally funded through the support of the Arnold P. Gold Foundation and is now supported through the COM Division of Geriatrics. The award exemplifies one of the many ways COM is committed to innovative educational opportunities for students of all disciplines in the respectful care of older adults.

The 2018-2019 Humanism in Aging Leadership Award winner is: 

Linda P. Fried, M.D., M.P.H
Dean, Columbia’s Mailman School of Public Health

Linda P. Fried, M.D., M.P.H., dean of Columbia’s Mailman School of Public Health (since 2008) is a leader in the fields of epidemiology and geriatric medicine. Trained in cardiovascular and chronic disease epidemiology, she has dedicated her career to the science of healthy aging, prevention of frailty and disability, and cardiovascular disease. She helped to define how to transition to a world where greater longevity benefits people of all ages. An internationally renowned scientist, she has led seminal work in two distinct areas: defining frailty as a new clinical syndrome and illuminating its causes based in the unravelling of the complex dynamical systems that underlie resilience; and examining the potential for prevention, establishing evidence as to the causes and outcomes of cardiovascular disease and of disability in older age. Since 2006, Dr. Fried has served as a member of the international MacArthur Foundation Aging Society Network to create a roadmap to a successful society of longer lives. In 2014, she was named among the top 1% “most influential scientific minds of the past decade” by Thomson-Reuters. She was lauded by the New York Times in 2012 as one of 15 world leaders in science. She is also the recipient of numerous honors and award, most recently the 2016 French Institute of Health and Medical Research (INSERM) International Prize in Medical Research and the 2018 Crain’s Notable Women in Health Care.


Building a society for longer lives: Investing in well-being along the continuum from robust to frail





Watch past presentations

Marie Bernard, M.D. Deputy Director, National Institute of Aging

Your Future In Geriatrics Care - Richard Stefanacci, D.O., 2016-2017 Award Winner

Delirium in Older Persons: Clinical Pearls and Pitfalls - Sharon Inouye, M.D., 2015-2016 Award Winner

The Myth of Alzheimer’s: What You Aren’t Being Told About Today’s Most Dreaded Diagnosis - Peter Whitehouse, M.D., Ph.D., 2014-2015 Award Winner

Myths and Realities of an Aging Society - John Rowe, M.D., 2013-2014 Award Winner

The Art of the Longevity Dividend - Desmond O’Neill, M.D., 2012-2013 Award Winner


2009-10 Humanism in Aging Leadership Award winner: Janice Knebl, D.O., University of Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine.