The University of New England College of Osteopathic Medicine gives out two annual awards for Humanism in Aging — the Humanism in Aging Action Award and the Humanism in Aging Leadership Award.

Humanism in Aging Leadership Award

The Humanism in Aging Leadership Award recognizes a prominent geriatrician who exemplifies humanism and innovation in his or her approach to improving the lives of older adults.

2019-2020 Winner

Dr. Louise Aronson, Professor of Geriatrics University of California San Francisco

Louise Aronson M.D., M.F.A. is a professor of Geriatrics at UCSF where her interests include optimizing healthcare for older adults, medical education, reflective learning, integrative geriatrics, and public medical writing. A graduate of Brown University, Harvard Medical School, and the Warren Wilson Program for Writers, Dr. Aronson has served as director of the Northern California Geriatrics Education Center, UCSF's Pathways to Discovery (scholarly concentration) program, and UCSF Medical Humanities.

She has received the Gold Professorship in Humanism in Medicine, the California Homecare Physician of the Year award, the AOA Edward D. Harris Professionalism Award, and the American Geriatrics Society Clinician-Teacher of the Year award, as well as numerous awards for her teaching, educational research, and writing. Her articles, essays, and stories appear regularly in newspapers, literary, and medical journals including the New York Times, Washington Post, New England Journal of Medicine, Health Affairs, and Lancet. She is the author of the book “Elderhood”.

As an educator, she has developed innovative programs for geriatrics training for non-geriatricians, interprofessional education, reflection in medical education, and the use of writing to harness the expertise and unique experiences of clinicians and medical scientists in service of health and health care.

Watch Past Presentations

Marie Bernard, M.D. Deputy Director, National Institute of Aging

Building a society for longer lives: Investing in well-being along the continuum from robust to frail

The Art of the Longevity Dividend - Desmond O’Neill, M.D., 2012-2013 Award Winner

Myths and Realities of an Aging Society - John Rowe, M.D., 2013-2014 Award Winner

Delirium in Older Persons: Clinical Pearls and Pitfalls - Sharon Inouye, M.D., 2015-2016 Award Winner

The Myth of Alzheimer’s: What You Aren’t Being Told About Today’s Most Dreaded Diagnosis - Peter Whitehouse, M.D., Ph.D., 2014-2015 Award Winner

Humanism in Aging Action Award

The Humanism in Aging Action Award is presented to the UNE COM student and/or resident who has submitted an action plan in an adjudicated venue that addresses the question: "How will you apply what you learned from the Humanism in Aging Leadership Award Winner’s lecture in your future practice?”

Past award winners
  • 2017-18: First Place: Emily Schaffer, MS I: Second Place: William Ciurylo, MS II; Third Place: Drew Oyama, MS I; and Aretha Kou, MS II (Honorable Mention)2016-17: 1st Place: Patrick Kurpaska, MS II: 2nd Place: Emily Szuba, MS I; 3rd Place: Tiffany Cheung, MS II; and Annie Liu, MS II (Honorable Mention)
  • 2015-16: First Place: Phil Barber, MS II; Second Place: Tiffany Cheung, MS I; Third Place: Lea Clay, MS I; and Brian Zylinksi, MS II (Honorable Mention)
  • 2014-15: First Place: Rachel Sluder, MSI; Second Place: David Drozda, MSII; Third Place: Shana Eaglefeathers, MSII
  • 2013-14: First Place: Holly Laird, MS II; Second Place: Gurmat Gill MS II; Third Place: Shana Eaglefeathers, MS I 
  • 2012-13: First Place: Cole Southworth, MS II; Second Place: Diana Stern, MS I; Third Place: Rob Zondervan, MS II
  • 2011-12: First Place: Hannah Reiman, MS II; Second Place: Heather Hassett, MS I; Third Place: Cole Southworth, MS I
  • 2010-11: First Place: Suvi Neukam, MS I; Second Place: Jaqueline O'Toole, MS II; Third Place: Dana Maglaris, MS I
  • 2009-10: First Place: David Ladley, MS II; Second Place: Susannah Schultz, MS I; Third Place: Amber Hayden, MS I; and Robert Doody, MS II (Honorable Mention)
  • 2008-09: First Place tie: Sunny Raleigh, D.O. (Resident) and Corrie Anderson, MS I; Third Place: Katherine S. Hayes, MS I