This website uses cookies to understand how you use the website and to improve your experience. By continuing to use the website, you accept the University of New England’s use of cookies and similar technologies. To learn more about our use of cookies and how to manage your browser cookie settings, please review our Privacy Notice.


Dorothy M. Healy Professorship

The Dorothy M. Healy Professorship of Literature was established in 1990, named in honor of the Collection's co-founder and first curator. A full-time faculty member in the Department of English, the Healy Professor also serves as the faculty director of the MWWC. As such, the Healy Professor is responsible for promoting, developing, and encouraging use of the Collection.

The Healy Professor directs the MWWC's academic conferences and works with the Curator on other public and academic programming, advises the Curator about collection development and acquisitions, performs outreach to the scholarly community, runs the Research Support Grant Program, supports the Collection's use by undergraduates, and performs many other duties designed to enhance the MWWC's value to UNE students, scholars, and the community.

Now a full-time, long-term appointment, the Healy Professor position began as a visiting professorship, and has been held by the following individuals:

1990-1994 Bradford Dudley Daziel
1995: Sheila Curran Bernard (Visiting)
1996: Karen Kilcup (Visiting)
1997: Janet Varner Gunn (Visiting)
1998: Judith A. McGaw (Visiting)
1999: Margaret Spratt (Visiting)
2000: Susan Goodman (Visiting)
2000-2001: Jonathan Handelman (Visiting)
2007-2008: Carol Farley Kessler (Acting)
2014: Libby Bischof (Acting) 
2001-present: Jennifer S. Tuttle

jennifer tuttle

Jennifer S. Tuttle
Dorothy M. Healy Professor
Professor of English


As a member of the Department of English, Jennifer S. Tuttle teaches courses in literature and health, women's studies, U.S. literatures, and the American West. Her scholarly and editorial work focus on archives-based research and recovering women's literary history. She is coeditor of Charlotte Perkins Gilman: New Texts, New Contexts (2011) and The Selected Letters of Charlotte Perkins Gilman (2009) and released a scholarly edition of Charlotte Perkins Gilman's 1911 novel The Crux in 2002. Her published work has appeared in numerous journals and edited collections. She is also a coeditor of Legacy: A Journal of American Women Writers.