Biomedical Sciences

The Department of Biomedical Sciences is dedicated to delivering innovative, interdisciplinary medical curriculum with expertise in pharmacology, biochemistry, genetics, genomics, medical biochemistry, and molecular biology. The department’s faculty support a robust research program that investigates the neurobiology of pain, the limbic system and developmental neurobiology, cardiovascular and metabolic diseases, immunology and infectious diseases, and medical education.

Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine

The OMM Department’s focus is the integration of osteopathic principles and practice as well as OMM and neuromusculoskeletal medicine research. Osteopathic manipulative medicine, also known as osteopathic manipulative treatment (OMT), is a hands-on diagnosis and treatment modality used to improve patients’ structure and physiological function in order to optimize the body’s ability to maintain health. 

Specialty Medicine

The Department of Specialty Medicine consists of osteopathic and allopathic specialists in cardiology, nephrology, gastroenterology, and hematology/oncology as well as surgeons, surgical subspecialists, pathologists, radiologists, emergency medicine specialists, and OB/GYNs.

Primary Care

The Department of Primary Care is devoted to the acquisition and practice of the knowledge, attitudes, and skills necessary for the promotion of the health of the whole person in mind, body, and spirit. The Department includes the Division of Family Medicine, the Division of Psychiatry, the Division of Pediatrics, the Division of Internal Medicine, the Division of Geriatric Medicine, and the Coastal Healthy Communities Coalition for York County.