About the Council

The Research Council leads work on the Focused Research and Scholarship priority of the UNE strategic plan.

The council is chaired by the associate provost of research and scholarship. It has representation from across the university including each college/unit, research-associated centers and institutes, the Office of Research Integrity, the Office of Sponsored Programs, UFA Research and Scholarship Committee, the library, the Council of Undergraduate Research (CUR), and the IRB chair.

A Research Council meeting is held on the third Thursday of every month.

Check out the Office of Research and Scholarship blog to see highlights from the Research Council

Council Members

Headshot of U N E Associate Provost of Research and Scholarship Karen Houseknecht
Associate Provost for Research and Scholarship
Professor of Pharmacology
Headshot of U N E employee Carol Brenner
Associate Dean for Research and Scholarship, College of Osteopathic Medicine
Shelley Cohen Konrad
Professor, School of Social Work
Director, Center to Advance Interprofessional Education and Practice
Headshot of Amy Deveau
Academic Director, School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences
Professor of Chemistry
Sonya Durney
Scholarly Communication, Research & Teaching Librarian
Mohamed ElSalhy
Associate Dean of Academic Affairs
Research Coordinator
Associate Clinical Professor
Interim Chair, Department of Preventative, Pediatric, and Community Dentistry
Headshot of Russell Ferland
Chair, Department Biomedical Sciences, COM
Nicholas Gere
Director of Research Administration
Director, UNE Office of Sponsored Programs
Headshot of Amy Keirstead
Associate Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor, Chemistry
Headshot of U N E employee Bob Kennedy
Director of Research Integrity
Headshot of Ian Meng
Professor, Department of Biomedical Sciences, COM
Director, Center for Pain Research
Director, Center for Excellence in the Neurosciences
Headshot of Tom Meuser
Founding Director, Center for Excellence in Aging and Health
Professor of Health, Wellness, and Occupational Studies
Clinical Psychologist and Applied Gerontologist
Headshot of Derek Molliver
Professor, Department of Biomedical Sciences, COM
Director, Center for Cell Signaling Research
Headshot of Julie Peterson
Professor of Psychology
Chair, Institutional Review Board
Affiliated Faculty, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
michele polacsek
Professor of Public Health
Director, Center for Excellence in Public Health
Charles Tillburg
Academic Director of School of Marine and Environmental Programs
Director of Arthur P. Girard Marine Science Center
Professor of Marine Sciences
Doherty Chair of Marine Science Research
Headshot of Cameron Wake
Director, UNE North: The Center for North Atlantic Studies
Portrait of Jamie Vaughn
Director of Animal Care